A Journey Into European Puppetry

The Puppets’ Grocery List

Toone Posters

Posters from Old Shows at Le Théâtre Royal de Toone in Brussels

Since I have decided to try with all of my energy to get back to Europa next spring to continue the filming of Gravity From Above it occurs to me that this would be a good moment to share with you folks what I actually need to accomplish. At least what I am hoping to get done.

What have I done so far…

First, and most important of all, has been the research. I have been reading puppet history in copious quantities. And more important than how much has been the quality of that understanding. I am nowhere near considering myself an expert on the subject, though I must say I have passed muster with Nina Malíková, editor of Loutkář Magazine, which has been in existence for over one hundred years, with Henryk Jurkowski, the foremost authority on European puppet history living today, and crucially, for my money, the Brothers Quay, with whom I spent a lively afternoon in discussion back in November of 2012. So I’ve learned enough about the homunculi by now to at least ask intelligent questions. And I understand enough to know that no really good and comprehensive documentary on European puppetry exists. So the research is there.

IMG_1195

This is quite different from the ‘coon’ imagery that would’ve showed up in American depictions of black folks from the same era.

Secondly, I’ve been visiting European puppet theatres since 1996. (Has it really been that long ago?) In 2000 I began my discovery of Czech puppet theatres. 2005 was the first time I spent serious time, several months, investigating puppet theatres in France, Poland, Germany, Austria and the Czech Republic. It was like a visionary experience that really shook up my conceptions of the possibilities of art in the 21st Century. I met puppeteers and other related folks who have remained friends to this day. And it was out of that journey that this project was eventually born, as well as three puppet troupes in Haines, Alaska.

And then in 2012 I raised a few dollars for a preliminary run through Europe with a camera to try to record a few interviews with various puppet folks, especially the aging ones. That is the journey that this site has born witness to. Looking back I am quite astounded by the interviews and the new connections I have made. I even interviewed the elusive Jan Švankmajer, who, along with the Brothers Quay, was in many ways the inspiration and impetus for much of my own explorations into the world of puppetry.

And yet there is so much I could not possibly accomplish in the 2012 trip. First of all my camera skills, which have improved since, were not good enough to film the actual performances. There are two interviews I feel I need to redo. (Fortunately Švankmajer’s was good enough.) And eventually I will need to go back with an actual cinematographer to capture the puppets in motion. But I feel confident enough of my skills now to go back to get more interviews, to redo the faulty ones, and to get more candid behind the scenes footage.

Toone Theatre

Le Théâtre Royal de Toone in Brussels November 2012

So what am I hoping to accomplish this spring?

Here is a grocery list: Go back to Wrocław, Poland and spend more with Jakub Krofta. Go back to Prague, of course, where there is much to do. Get to Brussels, record and interview Nicolas Géal and attempt to shoot performance footage of the Le Théâtre Royal de Toone. Go back to ESNAM to spend some serious time following the puppet students. Return to Lyon for interviews with guignolistes and Guignol historians and to finally capture a Lyonnaise Guignol show. Of course, more time Paris. Switzerland needs a bit of investigating. And crucially get back to London for a serious interview the Brothers Quay. And finally to get myself to the edge of Europe in Georgia to investigate their puppetry, particularly the work of Rezo Gabriadze in Tbilisi. Getting to Georgia is essential to me on several levels, and Gravity From Above will give me a good excuse to get there.

ESNAM Morgan

Students at ESNAM in Charleville-Mézières in France November 2012

Now beyond that and seriously needing more funds I must get to Italy, Sicily in particular; Moscow, with hope the political situation doesn’t disintegrate; Spain, Catalonia calls out; Austria again to find the Teschner expert, Punch is smashing me over the head in England to get recorded and much more. And I need a film crew. But I can go on at least one more journey by myself if I have to. (I actually like traveling solo. It pops any cultural bubbles that often develop in groups.)

Toone Puppet Knight

A Knight on the Wall at Le Théâtre Royal de Toone in Belgium. Time to get Ready for a new Campaign into the World of Puppetry.

As I mentioned in my last update I have decided to kick off a campaign on the Hatchfund site to raise the funds to get back to Europe for more interviews and investigations. I thought about attaching a “Donate” button here for my PayPal page. But then I realized that it would actually interfere with the coming campaign. A few wonderfully generous souls would probably immediately donate to the cause, which is mighty swell. Except that I do need any contributions to Gravity From Above to be concentrated at the appropriate time and on the Hatchfund.org site specifically between October 15th and November 26th – the day before the American Thanksgiving holiday. (I’d like to be very grateful on that day.) So keep thinking about how you will help out THEN. And after that I will add the PayPal “Donate” button for any stragglers and further supporters.

IMG_1188

I know what to do if I need to get a head. Gadagne Museum in Lyon France.

But whatever I do, wherever I go, I will report in again as I have been doing to include any and all who have an interest in this strangely meaningful world of European puppets.

Come back soon for another update before the campaign.

Byrne Power

Haines, Alaska

9/30/2014

5 responses

  1. This is such a terrific project! I love reading the updates. Pity you are not in London on 14th Oct as I’m organising an event on The Puppet Barge – thanks to Gren & Juliet Middleton – they are the owners of a collection of puppets that were once owned by Edward Gordon Craig & we are holding a ‘Creative Banter’ evening with special guests John McCormick, Paolo Parmiggiani and Michael Dixon. You would love it – audience full of puppeteers and we are all going to try & identify the Craig puppets in order to find hidden stories and some not so hidden stories about Craig & puppets!

    October 1, 2014 at 12:13 AM

  2. Thanks for the encouragement and the invite Nenagh. I wish I was there then too! However I will eventually be in London again. Maybe I can see some of these Craig puppets in storage. (I love seeing puppets in storage.) And it sounds like it would be good to meet up. Contact me at reckoningmotions a t Y a h o o dot c o m.

    October 1, 2014 at 7:59 AM

  3. I was in Haines decades ago, in February, visiting Carl Heinmiller, talking to classes there and in Skagway about puppets. In Haines the kids made a lot of sock puppets.

    I hope you can visit my collection now at North West Puppet Center. Was there Sept 17-27.

    October 1, 2014 at 10:00 PM

  4. Dear colleague,

    If you pass by Brussels next Spring 2015, you are welcome to visit our Royal Theatre Peruchet and our International Puppet Museum ( founded in 1938). We are a historival string puppet place for children and we are celebrating our 85 years of theatre in Brussels.

    Look at our website http://www.theatreperuchet.be or our Facebook page Théâtre Royal du Peruchet. In Brussels, there is our eternal frien Toone but also Peruchet.

    Thanks for your attention.
    Sincerely yours
    Dimitri Jageneau
    Marionnettist, artistic director and curator
    Theatre Roy du Peruchet
    International Puppet Museum Brussels

    October 6, 2014 at 12:28 AM

    • Thank You Dimitri. I appreciate that. In the next month or so I should know if we’ve raised the funds. I have to go to Brussels anyway and I will certainly take your generous invitation. I will contact you on Facebook soon.

      October 6, 2014 at 7:25 AM

Leave a comment