A Journey Into European Puppetry

Itinerary For A Curious Journey

GFA 2017:2018

So here is a vague idea of my itinerary on this mammoth adventure from October 3rd 2017 through April 3rd 2018. This only gives you the geopolitical references not the reality of my expectations for each place. Suffice it to say that this will be a serious undertaking. And as I review my expenses, after far too many last minute hidden unexpected major payments, I will indeed be counting coins by the end. (So feel free to help out with that PayPal button on the right. I can’t tell you how much that could help.) I won’t mention my expenses again for quite a while and unless I get in deep waters but do keep me in mind in your ponderings. Meanwhile I am going nuts trying to literally store my entire life of 21 years into one storage room and haul the rest away. (Garbage costs!!) In three more days! So I haven’t got anymore time to fill you in about the journey. If you need more information, read the last few entries. If you want to know why on earth I am doing this then go back to the three essays I wrote as a history of the project. (Click This Spot.)

This journey is a strange mixture of exploration, exile and mission for me. I’m not exactly sure what I’ll find this time, but I really don’t have another choice but to go. So next time I write it will be from Europe. Hopefully I will have settled everything back here in Haines. Wish me well. I can use prayers too. Good thoughts if that’s what you can spare.

Back to work!
And thanks for your support in this.

Byrne Power
Haines, Alaska
9/30/2017

October 3rd Haines to Juneau, Alaska

October 4th & 5th Juneau through Seattle and Reykjavik to Paris, France

October 5th – 8th Paris

October 9th – 27th Charleville-Mézières, France – International Institute of Puppetry and ESNAM

October 27th – November 5th Brussels, Belgium Time spent with the Toone and Peruche tMarionette Theatres

November 5th – 7th Paris

November 8th – 13th Lyon Various Guignol related activities

November 13th – 24th Huémoz, Switzerland – L’Abri Fellowship (Giving two music lectures)

November 24th – Train to Genoa, Italy then 17 hour ferry to Sicily

November 25th – 30th Palermo, Italy – Sicilian Marionettes

December 1st – 5th Rome, Italy – Commedia dell’arte style puppets

December 5th – Overnight train to Paris

December 6th – 10th Paris (More puppet related activities including Guignol)

December 11th – 14th London – The Quays & meeting filmmaker Matty Ross

December 14th – 21st Paris More puppet and cultural activities

December 21st – 22nd Plane through Warsaw, Poland to Tbilisi, Georgia

December 22nd, 2017 – March 28th, 2018 (!) – Tbilisi, Georgia Guesthouse stay for a few days then three months in a studio apartment – Much more research into Puppetry and the unusual music and dance of Georgia.

March 28th – Plane from Tbilisi, Georgia through Warsaw to Paris

March 29th – April 1st – Paris

April 2nd – Plane from Paris through Reykjavik to Seattle to Juneau, Alaska

April 3rd – Juneau to Haines, Alaska

 

Leave a comment